Home > Software Development > Help! I Can’t Send/Receive Email using Verizon DSL! (or Thunderbird is Go!)

Help! I Can’t Send/Receive Email using Verizon DSL! (or Thunderbird is Go!)


I am now using Verizon DSL for my connectivity. Email did not work. Their on-line chat support was polite but useless. Their phone support was better, but couldn’t get me past creating a Verizon email account (which I could not do on my own using Linux as they have a Windows executable they wanted to run).

Pointless verbiage is below the solution. Things to bear in mind before starting:

  • Verizon only supports ports where your password is sent in an unsecured fashion across the net (that would be ports 110 (outgoing) and 25 (incoming)). No SSL/TLS port support. At all. Don’t bother trying.
  • All of your outgoing mail has to go through their server. Paying an ISP to do that for you? Too bad. Is the Verizon server secure? No.

Thanks, Verizon.

Here is what you need to do to get Thunderbird working with Verizon DSL:

  • Make sure you have a Verizon account set up which includes an email address. Do you really need another email address? Probably not, but Verizon won’t let this work any other way.
  • Change you POP mail Server Settings (for all of your accounts) to:
    • Connection Security: None [this should set the POP port to 110]
    • Authentication method: Password, transmitted insecurely. [I had mine set up for SSL/TLS. Verizon doesn't support that. If already had the above configuration: what's wrong with you?]
  • Change the Outgoing Server (SMTP) configuration:
    • Click Add…
    • Server Name: outgoing.verizon.net
    • Port: 25
    • Connection Security: None
    • Authentication method: Password, transmitted insecurely
    • Username: [your Verizon username, not your Verizon email address]

That’s it! It seems like it should have been so much harder, but having to configure my email to be as insecure as it has ever been was kind of aggravating.

Useless Verbiage

I am a happy user of Thunderbird. I used to use Eudora, moved to Thunderbird + Penelope, but the Penelope plug-in has apparently died an ignominious death (someone please tell me it ain’t so!).

So in my move to new digs I had to find a new provider. Verizon was one of my choices (DSL as Fios is not available here) and there are configuration changes that must take place for things to work.

Browsing was a piece of cake. Sending/receiving email…not so much. It took a few days of on-and-off research and phone calls (well, 2, but they felt like more) to resolve this. This was not that hard and in fact was similar to the problem I had with Cablevision, but at least Cablevision allowed me to configure SSL/TLS so the sending and receiving of email was a little more secure.

Wuah, wuah, wuah. Go fix your settings and get back to work.

The cat is nowhere to be found.

Much Thanks

http://www.dslreports.com/faq/4964 for the information about the insecure ports and Verizon tech support for creating my account without having to run the Windows executable on Kubuntu.

Categories: Software Development
  1. February 28, 2011 at 9:54 pm

    Wow thanks. I’ve been going crazy wondering why I stopped being able to send e-mails since we changed back to Verizon last week after years of brighthouse. Even the wi-fi has been screwy between routers. So aggravating.

    I haven’t changed my e-mail that I use in about… um 5-10 years? Not sure. Netscape before it was taken over by AIM and I use thunderbird.

    So was your only solution to create a NEW e-mail address with verizon and change over? You can’t keep your own e-mail address? I use IMAP and I know the port for AIM is 587 – so does that mean this e-mail is useless (unless I sign on online, which I find far too annoying and hard to organize)…?

    I’m kinda tempted to tell me parents just to go back to Brighthouse XD But I still like the digital cable in my room and the free movie channels for the year… Sigh. I didn’t forsee so many problems and nuisances.

    • cvalcarcel
      February 28, 2011 at 10:08 pm

      I had to create a new email address with Verizon, but that did not fix the problem. As a new Verizon DSL user a new email address is created by default, but I ignored it once the account was created. The solution was the unsecure account creation.

      Not sure what to do with an IMAP problem.

  2. February 28, 2011 at 10:06 pm

    Hmn… well never mind about that. Whether related to changing to Verizon or not, I seem to have gotten it working. Just afraid to touch anything since I’m still not quite sure which setting change worked.

  3. mark jensen
    August 10, 2011 at 8:16 pm

    thank you so much will try tomorrow. we just moved office and my laptop would not send email. we used to have cable and no problem then i go home on cable and bam sends email. dsl nothing. spent three days trying to get fixed.

  4. November 15, 2011 at 11:25 am

    Wahhh, I followed all 24 parts of your “Writing an Eclipse Plugin” Series – but now, as this is your last post on this blog, I have to recognize that there is no part 25 :(

    Because I would love to learn more about eclipse plugin development, especially how I can continue with the custom navigator, my question is: will you continue with this plugin tutorial?

  5. June 5, 2012 at 12:22 am

    All I want is help setting up Verizon.net E-Mail! I had my computer cleanesd up of virus and we forgot to download my verizon.net e-mail set up after cleanup of computer. Can you give me instructions, I can click on my icon on desktop, i get everything, except mail will not download so I can open or send mail. Help, Help!

  6. Don
    October 18, 2012 at 10:08 pm

    I have been using thunderbird and Verizon Mifi for years and it stopped working last week. What changed???

  7. German Bensadon
    October 11, 2013 at 5:26 pm

    Necesito contactarme por Mail con Verizon para desbloquear un iPhone. Me pueden ayudar y facilitarme una Direccion y un nombre de contacto? Gracias

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,185 other followers

