Home > Linux, Operating Systems, Software Development, XML > Help! I Can’t Find An Executable Version of XML Copy Editor for 64-bit Kubuntu!

Help! I Can’t Find An Executable Version of XML Copy Editor for 64-bit Kubuntu!


[I hate when things change; like when Dr. Who died and became someone else. Very disturbing. Anyway, the links to XML Copy Editor listed below don’t work as the maintainer of the getdeb site is no longer updating software for anything prior to Ubuntu 9.04. The getdeb XML Copy Editor drop was part of the Jaunty Jackolope distro which I guess was before 9.04. Any software for prior versions is still available on the getdeb archive site at http://old.getdeb.net/ and the 64-bit version of XML Copy Editor can be found at http://old.getdeb.net/release/4263. Sorry for any confusion this might have caused even though I didn’t cause it and the maintainer of getdeb didn’t mean to. So get over it. Download XML Copy Editor and be done with it.]

[Another update: 3/12/10: Going to http://old.getdeb.net/ does not appear to work. Apparently they are working on the legacy side of their site. Be patient.]

And now for something completely different. By different I mean short.

If you have been looking for a great XML editor I would recommend XML Copy Editor. The original goal of this post was to show you how to download the code and all of the dependencies needed to run XML Copy Editor. The last time I downloaded XML Copy Editor it did not come in a ready-to-run form for Kubuntu. I had to download all sorts of dependencies and cut the heads off of a few chickens to get it to work, but work it did and I was happy.

After installing Kubuntu again I found that I needed to revisit the installation of XML Copy Editor. Wouldn’t you know? I forgot to take notes on how I did it. And it was not trivial the last time I did it.

As it turns out there is a web site that contains ready-to-run, pre-baked versions of all sorts of program including XML Copy Editor. The site is getdeb and I also recommend it as a place to find software you might have thought was unavailable on Ubuntu.

I happen to run Kubuntu 64-bit so a search for XML Copy Editor returned XML Copy Editor for Ubuntu Jaunty 32 bit. Scrolling down the page revealed a version available for Ubuntu Jaunty 64 bit which exactly matched my need.

The cat was alive.

These are a few of my favorite things

XML Copy Editor does a number of things rather well:

  • Checks well-formedness
  • Validates the XML using DTDs, XSDs, RELAX NG and others
  • Applies XSL transforms so you can test what it is you are transforming
  • Executes arbitrary XPath on the current file
  • Supports the creation of 26 XML-related file types

Do I have to mention that it also uses colored syntax, element folding and a built in web browser?

XML Copy Editor: download it from getdeb. Install it. Use it.

  1. January 20, 2010 at 11:15 am

    XMLCopyEditor seems to be no longer available at getdeb. Were can I get the 64-bit version?

    • cvalcarcel
      January 20, 2010 at 8:18 pm

      The update at the top of the post actually mentions how XML Copy Editor appeared to have disappeared.

      You can download the 64-bit version of XML Copy Editor at http://old.getdeb.net/release/4263.

      Enjoy!

  2. Larry Murdock
    March 12, 2010 at 1:42 am

    I am missing something… going to the 64 bit links specified here returns a 404 with the message: “The requested URL /release/4263 was not found on this server.”

    • cvalcarcel
      November 30, 2010 at 5:50 pm

      Sorry for the late response…hope you weren’t holding your breath.

      The getdeb site does not appear to be hosting the XML Copy Editor install anymore. Not sure why. This means I may have to compile a version and write down the steps to get there.

      Not sure when I will get to that.

  3. D
    November 30, 2010 at 12:24 am

    It seems impossible to find a 64-bit XML editor for Ubuntu. Anyone have any hints?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

